About the Clinic


Taylors Free Medical Clinic is a faith based clinic whose mission is to minister to the mind, body, and spirit of the medically indigent and uninsured of Greenville County. While we strive to show Christ’s love through our daily interactions, none of the clinic’s services are contingent upon our patients affirming or adhering to our Christian Statement of Faith.

Our History

Russell Ashmore and Dr. James Hayes were on a Mo-Med Mission trip in 2003, when they wondered, “If we can do this in South America, half way around the world, why can’t we do something to help the people in our back yard?” This very conversation eventually gave birth to what is now the Taylors Free Medical Clinic. Upon their return, a steering committee was formed, and in 2004 the clinic was incorporated. After much preparation, the clinic opened its doors to the public on July 28, 2005. Aside from our small management team, we are fully staffed by volunteers, including doctors, nurses, pharmacists, and administrative personnel. When we first opened the doors of the clinic, we were excited and proud to serve 10 patients that evening. Since that evening, we have been blessed to be able to add specialty care and patient education services. To date, we have screened and serviced over 4,800 patients and average 130 appointments per week. We also have a pharmacy that dispenses medication free of charge to our patients.

Alliances and memberships have been established with the South Carolina Free Medical Clinic Association, the National Free Clinic Association, the South Carolina Hospital Association, Access Health Greenville County, the Pharmacy Association of South Carolina, Together SC, the Lions Club, National Association for Mental Illness (NAMI), Volunteers in Medicine, Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce, Greer Memorial Hospital, Greenville Health System, St. Francis Bon Secours, Bob Jones University, Clemson University, and North Greenville University.


Our Staff

Karen Salerno - Copy.PNG

Karen Salerno
Executive Director


Morgan M. Reece
Administrative Assistant


Clarissa Clark
Patient Services Coordinator

Dr. Smith (2).PNG

Dr. Rebecca S. Smith
Volunteer Medical Director

Michele Jenkins.PNG

Michele B. Jenkins
Pharmacy Technician


Kristi Shockley
Pharmacist in Charge

jessica atkins - Copy.jpg

Jessica Atkins

Ashley (2).PNG

Ashley Frisch


Connie Ashford
Volunteer Coordinator


Our Board of Directors

Russell Ashmore - Chairman
Dr. Jim Hayes - Vice Chairman
Allen Hodges, CPA, CGMA - Treasurer

Sonya Ables
Dennis Ballentine
Mike Burns
Larry Copeland
Doris Foster
Richard Hardy

Peggy Harmon
Ben Leaphart
Dick McGaughey
Gwendolyn Mayes
Thomas Strange
Michael Welch